Posted by: peterhact | March 21, 2010

Music – what defines our moods, and which music is best for you?

I have many and varied tastes in music. I love all sorts, from the 1812 Overture to Iron Maiden – Rime of the Ancient Mariner, and a lot of different types in between. What makes me listen to a particular type is the mood I am in. If I am feeling very happy, I listen to music I grew up with, sometimes Neil Diamond, The Manhattan Transfer, even John Denver, when i want to remember really great times when I was a kid.

I don’t really have a type of music that I really don’t like, unless I cannot understand the words through the noise of the band.

I recently started to get into the music of a local Canberra Band, The Feldons. Their music is different, and powerful, and the originals that they play are wonderful. they do covers as the gigs they play seem to demand it, but when they let loose with their own music, it is astounding. (to plug them further, check out http://thefeldons.com/fr_index.cfm ) I guess what I want to know is am I a rare beast when it comes to music? do you listen to different types depending on your mood, or just music that you love?

Leave a Reply

Categories

