Posted by: peterhact | November 20, 2015

Funny how a reflection of the past makes you stop and think about your future.

Through the kindness of a very old friend, I was given an opportunity to re-connect with others from my past. It brought back many great memories of camaraderie from those days, and a couple of regrets. I never told the girl I had a crush on that I did, and time marched on. 

Actually, there were two girls that I really fancied, in a awkward teenage way.

 Fast forwarding over nearly 30 years of experience, and I find that I am now in a similar pause moment of my life, but there are a couple of things that have changed, and I am grateful for the life lessons I have learned and the treasures I have gained. My children are my treasures. They are more precious than any riches I could earn.

I am, however, wondering what my life would have been like if I were the popular kid, if I had lots of friends and girls had adored me? Would I have had a different life? Would I have ended up spending several years in isolation, supported by alcohol and dreaming of a future without me in it? 

These are the what if moments that make me doubt me. And then, like a strange reset, I don’t have the time to doubt myself anymore. I just have to head onwards and upwards, rise above the crap moments, and leave the bad bits of the past there. Recalling the good moments helps me, but I can’t always remember the good bits, and there were some nasty moments that I’d rather forget.

So thanks to an old friend’s kindness, I have old friends to reconnect with, memories to remember, and hope that the future is going to be as great as I thought it would, almost 30 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Categories

